Award Thingy

This is Phoebe, our 9.5 week old junior doe.

Okay, so a couple of people nominated me for something called a Liebster award, which I guess gets the name of new bloggers out there. It feels weird for me to be thought of as a new blogger, since I’ve been doing it for almost seven years, but not for homesteading, etc., which is very new to me. And of course this blog is very new. I am so new to WordPress that I don’t know any new blogs to tag that haven’t already been tagged. Most of the blogs are established. So I am going to skip that part, which always feels a bit chain letter-ish to me, but I will answer the questions, because I do appreciate the plug and feel it was very kind of Frugalhen and Simplicity of Choice to think of me.

Eleven Random Facts

1. My favorite number is 17. I have no idea why.

2. I don’t have television service and haven’t for years.

3. I love to read military science fiction, but only when it involves a strong female lead and little to no swearing. Elizabeth Moon is my favorite author of this genre.

4. I love end of the world, apocalyptic type movies or books where people have to start over from scratch. That ties in with my love of pioneering and homesteading, whether it is on Earth or on new planets.

5. I have kept a diary since I was 9.

6. I love to cook, but I hate to clean up after myself when I do.

7. I homeschool my son, but my daughter goes to public high school. She was homeschooled for several years, but made the choice to go back after 8th grade was over.

8. My kids and I get along incredibly well, even though I am fairly strict. They love hanging out as a family.

9. We try to eat dinner every night as a family and I think it makes a huge difference in our relationships that we do.

10. I don’t like swearing. I find it to be very unnecessary and used to a ridiculous extent in society, films, television, and books. There are plenty of other more imaginative words that will do. Fudge monkeys is my favorite. And it has more shock value amongst strangers than the F-word because they can’t believe you said it.

11. Growing up the only vegetables I ate were potatoes, carrots, radishes, celery, pickles and green beans. Those veggies were all my mother ever made or had available. As an adult I’ve added broccoli, lettuce, cauliflower, kohlrabi, kale, sweet potatoes, squashes, cucumbers, zucchini, chard, cabbage, bok choy, onions, daikon, leeks, celeriac, baby spinach, tomatoes, and peppers. Every time a new veggie becomes available in the market I will buy one to try. I don’t care for Brussels sprouts even though I like all the other brassicas and I haven’t actually tried turnips, parsnips, beets, or fennel, but they are on my list.

Eleven Questions from Frugalhen

1. What is your ideal weekend getaway?

I’m not sure I have one. I’m a homebody. My ideal weekend would be dropping the kids off with their grandma and just having time to be me as a person, as opposed to always being me as a mother. I love being a mom, but sometimes I think as a stay-at-home-mom part of me gets lost in the shuffle.

2. Who was your childhood hero (real or fictional) and why?

Doctor Who, I guess. He was smart and had a time and space ship and always did the right thing.

3. If you could be granted a super power, what would it be?

My gut response is flying, but I think I would really prefer the power to magically heal.

4. You have to evacuate your house and are allowed to take only one material possession with you. What would it be?

My purse.

5. Are you a coffee or tea drinker.

I don’t like coffee. I’ll tolerate tea. I mostly just drink water. I prefer it.

6. What is your favorite time of year?

Early Autumn when it is still warm and there is still a harvest in the garden and the leaves are just turning color, but the wind and rain and yuck hasn’t started yet.

7. What is the most important lesson you’ve learned in life so far?

This, too, shall pass. In the midst of pain, or sadness, or grief, I have lived enough to know that it doesn’t last forever, that it does get easier to cope with, and that I do have the strength to deal with it.

8. You’ve just won $1 million tax free. What would you do with the money?

Buy a farm. Pay for college for my nieces. Travel to Spain, France, the U.K. and Greece if it ever stabilizes enough.

9. How many animals do you hope to add in the next year?

Well, I just added rabbits, so probably not anything else but the meat chickens, which are my mother’s project more than mine.

10. If you could change your name, who would you like to be?

Elisabeth. But I like my name.

11. Favorite color?

It changes. Right now a sort of fiery orange color.

Eleven Questions from Simplicity by Choice

1. Who inspires you?

My mother. She’s 73 and still going strong. She beat cancer at 40, took care of my grandmother while she was dying of Alzheimer’s, took care of her sister who was mentally handicapped for many years after Grandma died, and then took care of my father when he went blind and was also dying of Alzheimer’s. She keeps going and she continues to have a positive outlook on life.

2. What is the hardest part about blogging, if any?

I don’t find blogging to be difficult. I love to write and words tend to come easily to me.

3. What is your favorite quote?

“If you put a large switch in a cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying End-of-the-World-Switch—Please Do Not Touch, the paint wouldn’t even have time to dry.” Terry Pratchett

4. What is your favorite dessert?

Chocolate pudding.

5. What skill do you wish you had taken the time to learn when you were growing up?

Sewing well with a machine.

6. What is the one activity you wish you had the time to pursue?

Music lessons.

7. If money was no issue, where would you like to travel?

Everywhere. If I had to choose, Barcelona, Spain.

8. What is your favorite holiday?

Independence Day.

9. What is your favorite pastime?

Writing.

10. What are you currently reading?

The Fault in Our Stars and Storey’s Guide to Raising Rabbits.

11. Do you play a musical instrument?

Viola. I know a bit of violin and piano and the very basics of the flute. I did voice for 8 years.

So there you have it.

Leave a Reply

