The Worms Crawl In, The Worms Crawl Out

One of the many suggestions I have seen on rabbitry blogs is to create worm bins for red wigglers beneath your rabbit cages. They apparently help keep the odor down. Now I haven’t particularly noticed anything odiferous about our bunnies, but I do tend to keep their cages very clean. Of course you never know when the odor might sneak up on you. I certainly know from raising chickens that animals can definitely start to get that parfum de barnyard and I’d rather prevent that if I can.

Of course I know absolutely nothing about worm bins other than that they are supposed to be a great way to turn refuse into black gold for the garden. Oh, I compost in the normal way, and if the worms find their way in on their own, which they do, I have nothing to do with it. But to actually raise them and maybe kind of halfway know what I am doing, I did what I usually do. I consulted a certain big and popular online bookseller, found the highest rated books on worms and worm bins, and then went to the county library’s search engine to see if they carried them. They did. I put them on hold before my vacation and they came in while we were gone. I was able to pick them up today and now I look forward to…well, maybe not interesting reading, but informative.

I’m not really one to think of worms as livestock, but I guess they are. They just seem very much more hands-off than rabbits or chickens or ducks. I have confidence that they would be pretty hard to kill by accident, but the books will just give me the knowledge of things I need to be aware of. After reading these books I will then look for youtube vids and do some random searching on the internet. This is the pattern I have taken with chicks, ducklings, and rabbits, and it always gives me the information I’ll need.

I really love my county library system. I have learned so much for free. It is a wonderful resource for homesteading, especially when you feel like you know absolutely nothing when you first start out with something. It is also a great resource for homeschooling when you feel like maybe there is more to learn than is covered in your curricula or if your child is having a hard time grasping concepts, you can find books that explain those concepts in a different way. And of course it is wonderful to find books to read for pleasure. Internet or no internet, I think there will always be a place for the library. At least I hope so. I never would have had the confidence to take on rabbits without the books they provided.

Speaking of the rabbits, I picked up a 50 pound bag of feed today and was told that they were going to stop carrying that particular brand and that was the last bag of it. I will have to try to find another source of it. There are several feed stores in the county that are not part of this small, local chain so there is a good chance I can find it elsewhere. And I can always buy it in the next county over, as we go there once a month to buy our pasture-raised beef. If I haven’t found it by the time I am halfway through the new bag, I will choose another brand and give them 3/4 to 1/4 for a week, then half and half, and then 1/4 to 3/4 until the first type of feed is gone, so they won’t get upset tummies from the switch.

I also bought a second water bottle for Piper’s cage. She and the kits were almost emptying the one they had every 12 hours. This way I’ll have a little wiggle room if I can’t get out to do mid-day checks. Piper was so funny. The minute I poked it into the cage she had to try it. She seemed very satisfied with it. Then she went to the first bottle and tried it, too, like she was comparing, then went back to the second bottle. The little fluffers didn’t stir at all. They were content to stay in big pile of bunnies and slept through the whole thing. I am trying not to let their adorableness get to me. We will keep the best female of the lot for breeding, but the others are food and I need to keep that firmly in mind at all times or I will never make it through butchering time. And that will defeat the whole purpose of keeping rabbits in the first place.

6 thoughts on “The Worms Crawl In, The Worms Crawl Out

  1. I’ve always said, it’s a good thing they don’t have to be butchered at 2-3 weeks old or I would not be able to raise rabbits for meat. Luckily, in my opinion, they are less-cute when they do get to butchering weight.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Definitely, I agree. The doe and the buck they came from are nice-looking animals, but the adorable factor is gone. Even these little fluffers are starting to look more gangly as the days go by.

  2. Casey says:

    I have always wanted to try raising worms, but I have been around a worm bin after it has “gone south.” The environment they need seems to be more of a challenge than other critters. Still, I may try someday. I hope you are able to get a bin or two going – it’s always fun to read other folks’ success stories.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      That’s a reason why I am going to read so heavily about it before even attempting it. I figure the more I educate myself, the less chance I will have of killing them off.

  3. Danette says:

    Hope you to know when u get to the butchering part cause i will learn from your experience & use it to do my meat processing.

  4. LuckyRobin says:

    Or learn from my lack of experience, anyway. But yes, I’ll talk about it on here. So far I’ve only watched it done on youtube and viewed a few blogs that go through it. Hopefully that will translate to real life skill pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

