The Unbearable Cuteness of Bunnies

Leo was out yesterday and Phoebe is no longer playing it cool. They were very curious about each other, but I made sure it went no further than sniffing noses. Phoebe is too young to mate yet. Since she is such a skittish girl I am hoping to get her familiar with Leo under controlled circumstances. Both Phoebe and Leo got separate turns on the floor yesterday, but the younger rabbits didn’t want to leave their cages. I gave Leo and Piper radish tops yesterday which they both devoured.

I went to the sleep doctor yesterday and then cancelled my physical therapy appointment because I was feeling horrible. I’m not sure if it is my allergies, since both cottonwood and Scotch broom are blooming right now, or an outright illness. Both of the kiddos are sick, too. I am happy for the long, three day weekend right now. It means just animal related chores and not homeschooling or driving my daughter to high school.

As of yesterday all of the kits have their eyes open. There is one very piggy looking kit. He’s larger by quite a lot then the others. I think he was the first to open his eyes. They were all the same size a couple of days ago, but aside from Piggy there is also one that is smaller, so I’m not sure that one is getting his fair share of milk. I found him outside the nesting box this morning, which means he probably held on after Piper got done nursing and jumped out, taking him with her. He’s only 12 days old so I don’t think he jumped out on his own. Piper was a little frantic when I came in this morning, but settled right down when I saw the kit and put it back in the nesting box and he snuggled right down amongst his brothers and sisters. His eyes are only half open, too. I’ll keep an eye on him. Hopefully when his eyes are all the way open he’ll be able to fight for milk with the rest of them.

They all seem to be growing well, though even if one is much bigger and one is a little smaller.

We had our first rose of spring open. It’s beautiful.

I am hoping it stays nice today so I’ll have some dry weather to work in the garden. It sorely needs weeding.

4 thoughts on “The Unbearable Cuteness of Bunnies

  1. Grace says:

    I am sorry you are feeling bad. 😦 M throat is a little raw as of this morning… and I don’t think it is allergies.

    I had one hop out f the nest box with his sibling on either day 11 or day 12 one time. One didn’t even have his eyes open! Needless to say, I popped him back in. 🙂 They are the cutest at 3 weeks in my opinion. 🙂

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Thanks. I am finally out of the worst of it. And it definitely was not allergies.

      Yeah, I think 3 weeks to about 6 weeks is when the adorable factor is strongest.

  2. I totally ignored all that stuff about illness because I was too blown away by that adorable photo. If you want sympathy from me you can NOT start a post with a picture like that!

    Okay, maybe a little sympathy.

Leave a Reply

