Out of the Nesting Box

This weekend was one of those ones where you shut down all the non-essentials and just do the bare minimum to survive. I am on the upswing now, thank goodness, with one solid meal that has remained in my stomach, but the majority of the long weekend was spent praying to the porcelain god, and also to the real one, to please let my body stop trying to turn my insides into my outsides. I hate vomiting, especially when it expels itself via the method of bad horror movies. Yes, that is a lovely image to leave you with. You’re welcome.

I dragged myself out to the rabbit shed at appropriate intervals though it was more to supervise the son than to do anything myself, except woefully cuddle Lola. Ditto the chicken coop. Except for the cuddling part. I am very grateful to my children for how they held it together this weekend. My son specializes in making pancakes and eggs and toasted cheese sandwiches and my daughter pulled together dinners, so they managed to feed each other just fine and make the attempt to feed me, which was generally not successful in any way in which you might measure success, but was appreciated nonetheless.

I was able to take back over this morning. One of the kits has been out of the nesting box the last several days and today four were out. I thought I was going to have at least another week, but they seem to be adventurous at 2 weeks and 2 days old. They are just so adorable. Whichever one it was that was smaller than the others no longer is. I’m pretty sure that is the scrapper who got himself out of the box first and has been bugging Mama Piper for milk.

I feel a little sorry for Piper, as she had three kits chasing her around for extra milk today. It is so funny the way they just flip on their backs to get under her. All of the other rabbits throw a conniption fit if you even turn them over securely against you, so I hadn’t thought one would roll over voluntarily. Maybe there are different bunny rules at this stage. They can get themselves back in the nesting box, so I guess I won’t worry about trying to put them back in anymore.

I have decided to wait two more weeks before I put the new breeding stock inside the rabbit shed, for a total of four weeks of quarantine. Although there is absolutely no sign of disease on any rabbit’s part, after reading of the nightmare Mike is going through at The Tiny Homesteaders with Pasturella due to bringing in new stock, I just don’t want to take any chances. Besides they seem happy outside and it’s not like it’s going to get hot or stop raining any time soon.

I think they need to fire whoever does the local weather on the internet weather channel. They had predicted a sunny weekend, but it rained the entire time. I have given up on the idea of getting my garden in before June. It’s not going to happen. I’ll plant starts to make up for it. I guess it is just as well it rained as if it had been nice I would have been tempted to push my poor, sick self to work outdoors when what I needed to do was sleep.

The chickens have done pretty well for themselves. Six eggs Friday, nine eggs Saturday, and nine eggs on Sunday. Not bad for 11 hens. I won’t know today’s count until later as we have some late layers. The chicken yard is a mess. I almost lost one of my Wellies in the muck. I’m going to have to put some straw down tomorrow. Or…the son will. Just so we can walk without falling on our backsides.

Three more weeks of homeschooling and we will be done for the summer. I am glad. I am a little burned out on it, which usually happens around now. The three day weekend usually helps me to recharge, but this time I think I’ll just be muddling through. That’s okay though. We’re pretty much at the point where most of it is reviewing what we learned during the semester and then jumping through the last few hoops involving the state. The daughter doesn’t get out of public school until the 18th or so. She won’t start volunteering at the animal shelter until July though. Hopefully we can take those couple of weeks and get the garden shipshape.

4 thoughts on “Out of the Nesting Box

  1. Glad you’re doing better. Those GI bugs are no fun. Don’t blame you for wanting to quarantine longer; that whole pasturella thing sounds horrendous. Wishing you sunny forecasts that actually come true, and the stamina to take advantage of them!

  2. LuckyRobin says:

    Thanks. No they are not any fun. I am glad the worst of it is better. Supposedly it is supposed to be nice here starting June 1, but I will believe it when I see it. On the bright side, the grass is really looking lush.

  3. rachelmich17 says:

    That picture is truly precious.

Leave a Reply

