Weigh In at Four Weeks Old–New Zealand White Meat Rabbits

I cannot believe how much the kits have grown in a week. Some of them put on over half a pound! I can see them growing on a day to day basis, but there is nothing like numbers to show you the facts.

Kit 1: 1 lb 1 1/2 ounces (formerly 10 3/8 ounces)
Kit 2: 1 lb 2 1/2 ounces (formerly 10 1/2 ounces)
Kit 3: 1 lb 8 ounces (formerly 12 1/4 ounces)
Kit 4: 1 lb 8 ounces (formerly 14 3/8 ounces)
Kit 5: 1 lb 6 ounces (formerly 12 ounces)
Kit 6: 1 lb 3 1/2 ounces (formerly 10 1/2 ounces)
Kit 7: 1 lb 4 1/2 ounces (formerly 12 1/8 ounces)

I also decided to weigh the 12 week old (tomorrow) kits that will grow up to be breeders, just to see where they are.

Serenity: 4 lb 7 1/4 ounces
Sweetie Belle: 5 lb 8 3/8 ounces
Starbuck: 4 lb 8 1/4 ounces

That’s pretty good for 12 weeks. I think our butcher time is going to be at 14 weeks in the future for the meat rabbits. The ones we haven’t been able to slaughter yet are 16.5 weeks old and in the 7 to 8 pound range. They eat a lot of feed now. Supposedly our Rabbit Wringer is supposed to ship this week, but considering that on Tuesday it will be 8 weeks since we ordered it, I am not holding my breath. We may need to borrow a pellet gun from my niece’s husband for this batch.

I am really upset with the Rabbit Wringer people. When we ordered it they said 3 to 4 weeks. But when 4 weeks had passed and there was no sign of it or even a tracking number, we called them and sent several emails. It took a week before we heard back from them (they ignored the phone calls, but finally emailed) and said it would be at least 2 more weeks. After that had passed we called and emailed again. Again, finally (seven weeks after we’d ordered it) they replied that they’d be making up a shipping label on Monday (this was last week so it means tomorrow). Of course I am assuming that making up a shipping label means that they’ll actually be mailing it, but who knows with these guys?

I have had some bad customer service in my lifetime, but this place takes the cake. I guess they aren’t mean or rude, but just ignoring your customers for several days or weeks is not a good way to try to stay in business, especially on an item that depends on word of mouth. If it doesn’t show up next week I’ll be opening a payment dispute. I really want the product because it seems like the most humane way to easily slaughter a rabbit, but if it ever arrives, you can bet I would really, really hesitate to do business with this company again. And if the product does not work as shown, I will definitely be giving it a negative review. But I think it will be as advertised, so if I do give it a positive review it will be with a mention of how bad the customer service was and that the item was not delivered on time. Or even in the same universe as on time.

I think that having the juniors around for so long is going to make it harder to slaughter them. They have such individual personalities and I’ve grown a little attached. I am glad that we didn’t really name them, but when you know them by sight it doesn’t much matter. I am glad that the husband will be doing the actual killing. I will help as much as I can, but I don’t know how much use I’ll be this time. I think it will be easier on future batches with less time to grow attached. Maybe. I was okay watching it with bunnies I hadn’t raised myself, but… We’ll see. I may be okay once we get going. Practicality often wins out with me once I get my emotions out of the way.

3 thoughts on “Weigh In at Four Weeks Old–New Zealand White Meat Rabbits

  1. Hope that the wringer gets here so, I have heard good things about it, but that yes, it takes a good amount of time to get one.

    I have been watching your kits grow with interest, remind me again, what breed they are please and thanks?

    • LuckyRobin says:

      They are New Zealand Whites, one of the medium size breeds and considered the best meat rabbit out there.

      • Thank you so much for the answer, I have new Zealand in the mix of my mutt meat rabbits, its one of four or five breeds that I intermix with, I used to do weigh out on my first few litters but now, I tend to do butcher weights mainly, so your weekly reports have made me interested in checking on my litter, so I wanted to know the breed to compare and reflect the weigths 🙂

        I did a full weigh out on my five week old mixed kits and will do them again on butcher day.

Leave a Reply

