Making Progress

It has been a busy week in just about every way and since the husband is only home for a few more days we have been trying to get as much done as possible, which does not leave much time for blogging. The son has finished everything for homeschool except for the essay. He aced all his math like I knew he would. He does a virtual school on the internet (even though there is a ton of book work that we do with it) and we got his grades and he made honor role again. So proud of him.

The husband has started building the rabbit tractors and we should have them finished by tomorrow, I think. I’m still waiting for him to finish the instructions on the PVC hutch frame build we did and I will post that. He forgot. I am taking pictures while we build the tractors, and I will do a write-up for those, too.

No Rabbit Wringer yet, 8.5 weeks and counting. The husband bought an air powered pellet pistol that we will use for killing the meat rabbits. Neither one of us is confident of the broomstick method. Me, because I have a bad knee, so my balance isn’t that good if I evenly distribute my weight. The husband doesn’t want to do it that way because he thinks he’d need a third hand to hold the rabbit still and I don’t want to participate in that, plus I can’t sit on my knees anyway because of the bad one. The kids said no way. So DH thought he could hold the rabbit’s back to keep it in place while using the pistol against the head. That’s the reason he went for a pellet pistol over a rifle. Anyone know the best place to shoot a rabbit in the head at so it suffers the least?

I’ve never owned any kind of gun before, though I grew up with them. My dad taught me gun safety from the time I was four and I learned how to shoot a .22 when I was around 7 or 8. I did BB guns at summer camp. But the only things I ever shot were tin cans and paper targets. I never went hunting with Dad and his brothers and Grandpa because I was a girl, and my mom didn’t want me around coarse language. Other than fish or crabs, I’ve never really been involved with ending an animal’s life. I don’t know if I will be there with the husband or around the corner hiding. I don’t know how emotional I’ll be about this. Hopefully I will be able to find some of my trademark stoicism in the face of things I really don’t want to do. I need to be able to do this at some point, even if that point is not yet.

Part of me really wants to keep one of the young bucks. He is such a sweetheart, but a tiny bit skittish. I do not need a third buck. And Starbuck is the sweetest, gentlest, friendliest young buck anyway. Leo may be stand-offish, but he’s a good breeder and doesn’t need replacing anytime soon. If it were one of the girls I would really consider it, but it isn’t. And the almost five-week-olds are so much friendlier and so much more responsive and inquisitive that I’d rather keep a doe from them anyway.

Speaking of the little ones, we let them out on the shed floor the last two nights. They had a blast. There was one we nicknamed Speedo (like the swimsuit) because he was zipping around so fast. They were a real treat to watch. I think we will go ahead and put them in one of the new tractors for a couple of hours a day so that they can run around safely. I didn’t think they were that interested in it until they got down on the floor, but they love it. I was going to wait until they were older, but I think they’d take to it now so long as Piper was with them. We are making the tractors six feet long so there is lots of room to run back and forth for them. They’ll have to take it in shifts. I figure I’ll put the kits and Piper in one and Leo in the other and then when it is time to switch, put Starbuck in one and Serenity and Sweetie Belle in the other. I’m not really wanting to take Phoebe outside until I know whether or not she accidentally got pregnant. That was on May 28th, so we still have a ways to go to see whether or not she exhibits nesting behavior.

I do want to have enough tractors made so that they can all be out at once eventually, but this is the best we can do with the husband only being home for 6 days. I can handle switching them out for a couple of weeks and then he can make a couple more when he comes home again. We will be processing on Sunday so I don’t need to add the juniors into the rotation cycle.

2 thoughts on “Making Progress

  1. I don’t participate in the killing part of any of our animals. That was an agreement my husband and I have had for as long as I can remember. I will help gut and butcher (I even gut out a deer when I was 7 mths pregnant) but I am far away for the killing. He is fine with that so it works well for us.
    What a bummer about the wringer. We have never tried shooting them. My husband does the broomstick for large rabbits but does all the younger ones by hand. I hope it goes very smoothly for you all.

  2. LuckyRobin says:

    Thanks. I am a little nervous about it, but my husband says I can hide around the corner and then come back around when he gets the skin off if I want to. Or not. Once it looks like meat I don’t think it will bother me so much. I think it’s just hard since I do the daily care. I’d be a little less sensitive if I didn’t pet them every day. Well, maybe I wouldn’t. i’ve spent most of my life nurturing animals and people so… Well, we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

