First Times–Fried Rabbit Recipe

Tonight we ate one of our first homegrown and slaughtered rabbits. It has been almost a month since we slaughtered them. Every week I would ask myself whether or not I was ready to cook one. Every week I could still clearly picture the face of the biggest buck and get a little choked up. This week I could still picture his face, but without getting choked up, so I figured it was time. And it was, though I still questioned myself right up until the first bite. Which was delicious, sweet and succulent. So now I know. I can do this. I can breed them. I can raise them. I can help slaughter them. I can butcher them. And I can eat them. We can be humane growers of our own meat.

I read several recipes on the internet and then decided to just go ahead and make up my own based off the general ideas I got. We use a gas oven so you may have to fiddle with your temperatures a bit if you have an electric one. Gas stoves seem to cook hotter in my experience. Our rabbit was a pretty large one, filling the skillet completely.

Ingredients:
2/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp freshly ground sea salt
1 TBSP paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 rabbit fryer cut into pieces
Extra virgin olive oil

Pour enough olive oil into the bottom of a large twelve inch skillet to have a 1/4 inch layer.

Put flour, black pepper, salt, paprika, garlic powder, and onion powder into a gallon size baggy. Shake up to evenly mix coating. One at a time place a piece of rabbit into the bag and shake to coat. Place each piece into the skillet as you go. Turn heat to medium high and cover with a well-fitting lid. If you don’t have a lid place a piece of aluminum foil over the rabbit while cooking. When it starts to sizzle (about five minutes) turn it down to halfway between medium and medium low. Fry for 20 minutes, then using a pair of tongs, flip pieces over. Fry for 20 minutes. Flip pieces again, making sure that any uncooked coating is down in the oil. Some of the larger pieces have three sides, some don’t. Cook for 15 more minutes. Rabbit is done.

Use any leftover coating to make gravy with your drippings. You may need to add more flour.

Edited to add:

On a second making of this recipe I doubled the pepper, salt, onion powder and garlic powder, but left the paprika the same. It made it zippier and more to my family’s taste. While the original was good, the additions made it even better.

11 thoughts on “First Times–Fried Rabbit Recipe

  1. Reblogged this on homesteaddad and commented:
    When I start my rabbits, this sounds like a good recipe to try!

  2. Mary @ HomegrownontheHill says:

    That’s great you guys liked the cooked rabbit! I’ve been wondering what it tastes like. Many people have told me its like chicken, how you cook it and how it tastes. Did you think that? We’re going to have to decide what to do with Fuzzy’s extra babies and eating them is definitely an option. I’m worried I won’t be able to eat them with their cute, adorable faces…hahaha. Like you, I know I’ll have to wait awhile.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      I’ve had rabbit before, but it was bought at the food co-op. I’ve usually slow cooked it in broth. This was just eating the first rabbit I had grown myself. And I’ve never fried it before.

      No, I don’t think that domestic rabbit tastes like chicken at all. It’s got a much richer, fuller flavor, almost sweet, but not quite.

    • It definitely is similar to chicken… But in the same sort of way that turkey is similar to duck. Cooked certain ways you would hardly tell turkey from duck, but eaten simply there’s a distinct difference in flavor. I would say it tastes like it has more minerals in it.
      What we did was I made a night of processing the rabbits, I had everything prepped before hand, and when we were done processing the rabbits were done cooking in the crockpot. Then we all shared it together. I think eating it the first night really helped me come to terms with it full circle.

  3. Rabbit is on our list to start raising this year. We recently took a trip to the international market down the road and discovered they had quail, rabbit, and goat. We are going to try the meat before attempting to raise any of them. Seems like a waste if we spend the time raising animals but do not like the meat.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Yes, it would be. We tried the rabbit meat at the local food co-op first before we decided to raise them. Quail is richer than chicken according to my mother and I imagine there is not much difference between goat and lamb, but have never tried it to know.

      I figure quail is cheap enough to raise that when we get into it next year if we don’t like it we can grind it up with another meat and use it in meatballs.

  4. It is also great to grind up and substitute for anything that calls for ground chicken/turkey.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Oh, have you had it that way? I would have thought because of it’s lack of fat ground rabbit might be too lean. Well, maybe in a sauce or fried in bacon fat it would work.

  5. gregandkath says:

    good for you — that first time is a little scarey. we generally grill ours for a bit and then finish cooking it in a sun oven. I’m excited to try your recipe though. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

