Hollyhocks and the Ability to Walk

I love hollyhocks. I love any flower that towers over me and makes me feel like I got hit by a shrink ray. I also love any flower that has the ability to come back year after year with no effort on my part. Ours run the gamut from salmon to lemon to a gorgeous purple. They are so restful to the eye in a sea of green or brown.

What do these have to do with the ability to walk? Nothing. I am just grateful to God for them both. Yesterday I woke up and my left leg had quit working. It does this on occasion, but this was the worst in a long time. It felt like the piriformus, the IT band, and the quadriceps had decided to make a giant braid of themselves and I couldn’t even straighten my leg. Even when my husband got my cane I could only walk on the toes and that was with shooting pain. Driving home from the airport last night was bad. Usually sitting or reclining helps, but not this time. The kids had to do all of the rabbit and chicken care last night, since the husband was off to Alaska.

I got into my “only when I’m dying” stash of medications and thankfully when I woke up this morning the muscle grouping had relaxed and most of the pain was gone. It wasn’t even enough to take ibuprofen and I got by with ice packs. I was able to care for the rabbits and chickens as usual without waking the kids up early. My bad days with this disability are so few and far between that sometimes I forget it is there at all. I take things for granted, like going up and down two steps on the porch, or the ability to play chicken hopscotch (the dance you do to avoid both stepping on the chickens and their poo).

Even though things are much better today, I scheduled a deep tissue massage with my physical therapist for tomorrow, which probably means a lot of the animal care will fall on my teenagers again, because I’m generally useless after a session. But the next day I should be good to go for a while.

Today was 91 degrees. That is too hot for this PNW woman. And it was definitely too hot for the rabbits. We clustered the tractors under the trees. They were on bare dirt, but we put in lots of hay and cut some lemonbalm for them. It would have been far too hot for them to be on the grass today, but they couldn’t stay in the shed either. We did keep the two Mamas in, but they each had their own oscillating fan and a frozen gallon of ice water to lay against. They seemed okay with that. They all got juicy kale to eat as well.

We put the chicken waterers and their feed under the apple tree and got the soil wet so they could scratch easier. They got cold fruit today and some leftover cold spaghetti (organic). Watching chickens eat spaghetti is funny. They all think the others have worms and try to steal them even though there is a big pile in front of them.

We are on water restrictions. The odd side of the street has Wednesdays, Fridays, and Sundays, so we will do a major watering of the range grass tomorrow and get some water on the potatoes (the only thing we managed to plant this year) and the fruit trees. We’ll need to pick blackberries and blueberries again tomorrow, either very early in the morning or after eight in the evening.

It is supposed to get up to 79 tomorrow, so I’ve got the ice bottles freezing for the rabbits. I’m also freezing some blackberries to give them during the heat of the day. They can’t have much, but they can have three or four each.

We are managing to keep the house cool by keeping all the curtains and blinds drawn on whatever side of the house the sun is on and then opening them when it has moved. We’ve got several large fans going, enough for everyone to sit in front of one as well as to bring in cooler air when needed. All three ceiling fans have been going non-stop since July began and the rains stopped.

2 thoughts on “Hollyhocks and the Ability to Walk

  1. I completely understand what you’re saying. I have had serious joint issues since I was 14 (It’s a cartilage issue with no cure) and sometimes my leg will dislocate from my hip. The pain is excruciating and I am lucky to walk at all that day, and I’ll be limping the next. It, too, is extremely rare (especially now a days. Time was it would happen every week or so) and there’s nothing to be done about it but power through! Best of luck! Never forget that even with a disability you can do anything you set your mind to!
    If you have water restrictions, can you set up rain barrels? Also, there’s lots of ways to do water conservation in your garden like clay pot watering. Basically clay pots are pourus so you get a clay jug and fill it with water then burry it right next to your plants. As your ground dries out it draws the water out of the pot into the soil. Much simpler is cutting off the top of something like a 2 liter and punching dozens of holes in the bottom, burying it next to the plants to just above ground level and filling it!

    • LuckyRobin says:

      We do have rain barrels. They are just empty as it hasn’t rained since June and we used the water on the potatoes up until it ran out. It was supposed to rain last night, but it didn’t. I’ll look into the clay jug thing though. Mostly I’m just worried about keeping the grass growing for the rabbits to graze on.

Leave a Reply

