Tropical Rabbit Stir-Fry Recipe

Even though I’ve installed a water bottle in a lower location on the opposite side of the cage, a couple of the three week old kits insist on stretching up to drink from the same bottle as Mama Phoebe. And it is quite the stretch. But I did find this morning that 2/3 of the lower water bottle had been drunk so some of them are using it.

Last night I adapted one of my chicken recipes to a rabbit recipe and it turned out great. Better than chicken even, and I love the chicken one. I didn’t take any photos, because I forgot until I was in the middle of cooking. Oh, well.

Tropical Rabbit Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup pineapple juice

1/3 cup canola oil

1/4 cup water

4 tablespoons minced onion (I use the white parts from green onions, but any onion is fine)

2 tablespoons sesame seeds

2 tablespoons packed brown sugar

4 large, fresh garlic cloves, minced (don’t cheat and use the jarred stuff, it’s worth using fresh)

1 inch fresh grated ginger (or 1 tsp ground)

1/16 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 pound boneless rabbit (I used the saddle and one of the hindquarters) cut into strips

2 pounds of stir-fry veggies of your choice. (You can use less veggies. We just tend to eat a lot of them). I usually use a combination of some of the following: snow peas, carrots, celery, bok choi, green beans, water chestnuts, bean sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower.

Oil for cooking. I use peanut oil if I have it, but canola oil works, too. Olive oil changes the taste so I would not recommend it.

Directions:
To make marinade, mix the first 10 ingredients. Set aside 1/3 cup marinade. Place rabbit strips in ziptop plastic bag or marinating dish and pour in marinade.

Cover rabbit (if using a dish) and refrigerate for most of the day or overnight, turning once or twice if you can to thoroughly coat rabbit.

Discard used marinade. Heat oil in the bottom of a wok or large sauté pan. Stir-fry rabbit on medium high until cooked through, 3 to 5 minutes. Remove rabbit from pan and add vegetables. If your pan or wok is not big enough you may need to cook the veggies in two batches. Cook until vegetables are tender crisp. I usually cook the broccoli and cauliflower for about 2 minutes and then add the other veggies and cook another 3 minutes. Add the rabbit back in and the reserved marinade. Cook until rabbit is warmed through and marinade is hot. You are done.

Note: I usually use the juice from canned pineapple for the marinade. If you don’t have canned pineapple or pineapple juice, but can get a hold of fresh, just add a half cup of small pineapple chunks in when you put the rabbit and reserved marinade back in the pan for almost the same flavor.

9 thoughts on “Tropical Rabbit Stir-Fry Recipe

  1. heidiskye333 says:

    Sounds really yummy!

  2. ssssuburbanite says:

    Thank you for the follow over on my blog…and I’m definitely going to sit down and take yours in. I’m considering rabbits for meat as a future venture…before or after beekkeeping, I’m not sure! Thanks again!

  3. valbjerke says:

    Sounds awesome – I can a lot of rabbit in pint jars – use it in ‘rabbit pot pie’ instead of chicken, and sometimes I can it in quarts with potatoes, carrots, onion, garlic and seasoning – nice to come home from work in the winter and just reheat a jar of stew 😊

    • LuckyRobin says:

      I’m going to be canning some of the next batch we slaughter. I really want that ease of making things on rushed days. Especially once we start homeschooling again.

  4. Such a shame – I can’t eat it! Pineapple allergies of all things. I think they’re stretching to reach the one Mom does because that’s how babies learn; they do everything that mom does whether it makes sense or not!

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Are you allergic to oranges? Because orange juice can be substituted for the pineapple.

      Yeah, I am sure they are copying Mama. But I have found that they have almost drained the one I put in at a lower level twice so clearly they’ve found it and approve. I was surprised because most of my bunnies are anti-plastic and insist on glass bottles. I’m happy though that these ones don’t seem to mind the plastic.

Leave a Reply

