The Little Fluffers Really Give Me So Much Joy

We are facing a slaughter of four rabbits this weekend and it is a hard thing for me, because despite trying to stay detached I do grow to love these little rabbits. I will help the husband, but I will feel sad about it. They add so much to my life. I knew that they would nourish my family, but I don’t think I quite expected how much laughter and stress relief they would give me. I like the chickens, I adored the ducks, but I love the bunnies. I am very glad I have the 5 week olds to snuggle with. It does help so much to have other litters coming up.

I made a rabbit in the crockpot yesterday. I filled the bottom with one cut up leek, 1 yellow onion, 3 carrots, 3 stalks of celery, and 8 cloves of crushed garlic. Then I put in one cut up rabbit and covered it with water. I added plenty of pepper and some salt and cooked it on low for 5 hours. After that I took the meat out (it was wonderfully tender), and after tasting the cooking liquid added more salt, pepper, and some granulated garlic to the liquid, and allowed the crockpot to go on low all night and all day to condense the broth. I ended up with two quarts and a pint of lovely broth. I will freeze one quart and one pint and use the rest to make egg noodle soup with carrots, celery, and potatoes later this week. We have about 12 ounces of leftover rabbit meat after dinner so that will get diced up and tossed in, too.

We finally have enough fans in the rabbit shed so that I don’t have to worry about putting them in too early at night. It hasn’t really been cooling off too much in the evening and it makes it so stuffy for them before the sun goes down. Even with the sun down we’ve had to run fans all night the last two nights and again tonight. The humidity is pretty bad. Fortunately the tractors can be used during the day and there have been good breezes under the shade of the trees.

I try to spend at least a half an hour every day watching the rabbits play. The youngest are so funny and take such delight in everything.

King of the Tunnel

Food Dishes are for Sitting In

Kit Conga Line

One of the nearby produce stands that sells local food, most of it non-spray and organic, has a bucket of vegetable trimmings and bruised soft fruits and a bucket of melon rinds and seeds (he cuts and gives out samples during the day). He said we could come down any afternoon or evening and take them for the chickens, and just to bring our own buckets. Oh, the chickens were so happy. They thought they’d hit the lottery! We bought corn and watermelon for ourselves. He also gave us a bunch of spotted bananas for free, which we promptly ate with our dinner tonight and will finish off at breakfast tomorrow. I do love a bargain and I do love it when local producers foster goodwill amongst their customers.

2 thoughts on “The Little Fluffers Really Give Me So Much Joy

  1. That is the biggest factor that has kept me from rabbits. It is funny how little fuzzy thing grab our hearts. Even if they are tasty.

  2. LuckyRobin says:

    Yeah, it is. They do make it a little bit harder to eat them.

Leave a Reply

