Birthday Cake from Scratch and All Natural Food Dye Frosting

Since today is my daughter’s 17nth Birthday I thought I would post my recipe for birthday cake. It is a from scratch, very moist yellow cake that I futzed with the recipe until I got it exactly right, and the frosting I make is colored with All Natural Food Dyes and Sprinkles from India Tree, a company that derives its food colors from natural sources, as opposed to tar. I was very excited when I found these food dyes and sprinkles because due to my son’s allergies we had gone without food colorings for years, and while they are not necessary, they make things a bit more fun.

2 1/4 cups of all-purpose organic flour, unsifted
1 1/2 cups of organic evaporated cane sugar
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher sea salt
1 1/4 cups organic non-fat milk
1/4 cup sunflower oil
1 stick unsalted, softened organic butter
3/4 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
3 large organic free range eggs (from our backyard chickens)

Preheat oven to 350° F

Combine dry ingredients and mix together well.

Add milk, oil and vanilla and beat for 2 minutes on the cake setting of your mixer. Add eggs and beat another two minutes (this is when I added a few drops of natural blue India Tree food dye to counteract the orangeness of the fresh eggs).

Pour into two pre-greased (I used butter) round cake pans. Bake for 35 minutes. The original recipe I based this off of called for 20 to 25 minutes, but the toothpick was goopy after 20, 25, and 30 minutes. It wasn’t done until 35. This was with a gas oven.

Allow to cool on wire racks for ten to fifteen minutes and then remove from pans and place directly on wire racks until cool, about 2 hours.

Frosting:
2 sticks of unsalted, softened organic butter (1 cup)
3 1/2 cups of organic powdered sugar
1 teaspoon organic milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon kosher sea salt
Few drops of food dye if you wish to color it (I used India Tree’s natural food dye in red)

Combine butter, sugar, and salt and beat until well blended.

Add milk and vanilla and food dye and beat for 5 minutes. When it is smooth and creamy it is done.

Frost bottom layer of cake on top and sides. Place second layer on top and repeat. Add sprinkles (we used India Tree’s natural blue and pink sprinkles here). Eat.

Leave a Reply

