Houston, We Have a Problem

Or a possible problem. Maybe. I think. Dilemma might be a better word. We bred Lola 29 days ago and she has exhibited all the signs of pregnancy, including a bigger dewlap, digging in the corners of her cage, nesting, and I palpated her at 2 weeks. She hasn’t really visibly seemed to have gained any weight at all and is smaller than Sweetie Belle, even though she’s a full month older, so she should be larger.

On the other hand, Sweetie Belle, who was not bred, is exhibiting all of the same signs as Lola except she has gotten big, too. I mean, a two full pounds bigger than her litter mates Serenity and Starbuck. I don’t know how she could have possibly gotten pregnant though.

The only thing I can think of is maybe at some point they got mixed up when they were being put back into their cages. The husband helped one day to put them away and he was confused about who went where, and I heard the son complaining, “No, Dad that’s not where she goes!” And he was talking about Lola. I figured though, with the son on the task that they got straightened back out, but maybe not.

Except Sweetie Belle still acts like Sweetie Belle, and Lola still acts like Lola, so I just don’t know what to think. Especially since they are both exhibiting symptoms. Sweetie Belle was building a major nest last night. And today she had a full on hay mustache, busily moving hay into the corner and building a nest. And there was a little bit of pulled fur.

Sometimes Sweetie Belle’s tractor is next to one of the bucks’ tractors, but not close enough that they should be able to successfully breed through it. At least I don’t think so. Especially with a doe who has never been bred before. If they did get mixed up, is it possible that just being next to a pregnant doe is making the other one react? Usually when they react it happens around day 18, they’ll build a nest, have a slight fur explosion and then be done with it. It has never happened this far along into another rabbit’s pregnancy, though.

I decided to err on the safe side and made up another nesting box, so now they each have one. I’d hate to have it that they were mixed up and the litter gets born on the wire. I guess if one gives birth in a couple of day and the other one does not, the one who gave birth is Lola and the one who didn’t is Sweetie Belle. I know Lola is the one we actually bred because if the mix up with the husband did occur it happened after breeding. If they both give birth…I don’t even know. But after all of this is sorted out, I am going to get the lady who does the ear tattoos to come out and do them. Because after a while, all the white rabbits with pink eyes look the same.

4 thoughts on “Houston, We Have a Problem

  1. erikamay85 says:

    HA! I sort of have the same issue with my pigs. Rosie seems pregnant….but doesn’t look it. She doesn’t show signs like her labia pointing up, but she also hasn’t cycled into heat again. She’s been with TWO boars, but her teats don’t seem swollen (hard to say, they are saggin’ from milking). Shes not her usually friendly self, but more like a grumpy pregnant lady. Then her daughter was “too” young but seems happy, hungry, friendly, bigger rounder tummy, and labia pointing skyward. BUT SHE’S SO YOUNG!!!

    Animals. I tell ya. They like to keep us confused.

    • LuckyRobin says:

      I think they do like to keep us confused! Rabbits can be pregnant without looking pregnant, but this is the first time it might be happening here. I can’t tell based on attitude either, since both of them don’t have nice attitudes at the best of times.

  2. I know what you mean. We just bought a doe who was bred and supposedly due three weeks from now. Yesterday morning she started showing nesting behavior out of nowhere. We gave her a nest just in case. This wouldn’t be our first doe purchased farther along than stated. That’s how it goes I guess!

Leave a Reply

