Deluge (and 5 Week Old New Zealand White Kit Weights)

All day yesterday it rained. And I mean it really rained. We had thunder and lightning, the whole works. It was glorious after our hot, dry summer. It’s like the land was holding its breath and could finally let it go. It came down so hard at one point it knocked the cap off one of the rain barrels and it was still coming down the drainpipe so hard and fast that it geysered up into a three foot high fountain. Of course the only photo I got was the aftermath of the drowned rain barrel.

All the caps are off the rain barrels for now as it is still raining. It is just the overflow cap at the top, so the barrels will remain full. I took a photo of the downpour as well. It was almost a solid sheet at this point.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope the downpour doesn’t hurt the green bean harvest. Joe’s said on Tuesday that they should have a huge crop ready in a week. I couldn’t get any to can for this week because their 2nd planting had petered out. But this third one was coming on like gangbusters. I still have pickles to can. Hopefully I can get to that tomorrow after physical therapy.

Yesterday was weigh in day for Piper’s 4th Litter.

Kit 1: 1 lb 12.4 oz
Kit 2: 1 lb 14.7 oz
Kit 3: 1 lb 12.6 oz
Kit 4: 1 lb 14.7 oz
Kit 5: 1 lb 13 oz
Kit 6: 1 lb 15.2 oz

Total Litter Weight: 11 lb 2.6 oz

Total Weight Gained This Week: 3 lb 12.2 oz

This batch of Piper’s kits is now on track with the weights of her 3rd Litter. Phoebe’s litter weights at 5 weeks are closer to Piper’s litter weights at 4 weeks. But remember Phoebe has 8 kits (9 the first week) so they had to fight more to be fed, especially the first week) and it is her first litter. Piper’s litters have all been 6, 7, and 6. I believe the breeder said her first litter was 6 as well. I will be very interested to see where Lola’s litter lays when they are old enough to be weighed.

Once these two litters are done growing out, I will make some comparison charts. At that point I will have three sets of data and I’d like to see how it charts. Then I can add each litter as they grow out and see where the average should be. I can also make individual charts for each rabbit as they have more litters. That should be useful for me as well as anyone new to rabbit raising. I really could have used a chart or two to consult when I first started for a confidence boost. Now with my fourth litter 9 days old, I have more confidence, but I didn’t have much earlier on. I really want the information out there for others who may soon be where I once was.

Leave a Reply

