At Six Weeks Old–New Zealand White Meat Rabbit Kit Weights

Piper’s kits are looking really good, though I think the hot weather spike did slow them way down on growth this week. They just don’t seem to eat as much when it is hot like that, though they drink a ton of water. I weighed them in on Thursday. It is amazing how even this litter is, though there is one that is lagging behind, but not enough for me to consider it a runt yet. Usually the weights are all over the place and there will be almost a pound discrepancy between the biggest and smallest. This time there is less than 6 oz between them. Kits 2 and 4 continue to be identical, and Kit 5 managed to creep past them both this week.

Kit 1: 2 lb 2.8 oz
Kit 2: 2 lb 5.8 oz
Kit 3: 2 lb 4.6 oz
Kit 4: 2 lb 5.8 oz
Kit 5: 2 lb 6.5 oz
Kit 6: 2 lb 8.1 oz

Total Litter Weight: 14 lb 1.6 oz

Total Weight Gained This Week: 2 lb 15 oz

The weather broke today and fluctuated between 66 and 70 degrees F with a good breeze. It was really nice. I kept the bunnies inside today, just because I was exhausted and the shed was nice and cool. Saturday they will go outside though. It’s going to rain Sunday and maybe for a few days after that, so tomorrow may be their last chance to go out for a while. I’ll try to get them out earlier in the day so they have most of it outside. I often don’t put them out until noon when the shed gets out, but will try to get them outside around ten instead.

I made rabbit for dinner tonight. It was one of the ones we slaughtered on Sunday. I used the recipe that I posted here not too long ago for fried rabbit, but doubled all the spices except for the Paprika. I liked the change a lot, it made it zippier. It also made for a beautifully colored and flavored gravy that I made with the leftover flour mixture in the shaky bag. Will definitely do this again and will go back and put a note on the original recipe.

Leave a Reply

