Weigh in at Eleven Weeks Old–New Zealand White Meat Rabbits

I finally remembered to grab the paper with the kit weights I took on Sunday. Phoebe’s kits are doing very well. We’ve got one over the 5 pound mark, 3 more close to it, the rest well into the 4 pounds mark, and one just beneath it. Our runt and our front runner have clearly emerged, but even the runt doesn’t seem that far behind.

Kit 1: 4 lb 15.5 oz
Kit 2: 3 lb 15 oz
Kit 3: 4 lb 6.4 oz
Kit 4: 4 lb 10.6 oz
Kit 5: 4 lb 8 oz
Kit 6: 4 lb 12.9 oz
Kit 7: 4 lb 15.4 oz
Kit 8: 5 lb 5.7 oz

Total Litter Weight: 37 lb 9.5 oz

Total Weight Gained This Week: 4 lb 3.2 oz

I think all but 2, maybe 3, kits will hit 5 pounds next week. We are looking at slaughter around week 13 or 14. We will probably do any kit that is over 5 pounds at week 13 and then give the last ones a bit more time to grow into week 14. It should be easier to do them at the somewhat smaller size and I think it will go faster.

I have spent less time handling this litter. The kids have handled them a lot and they are easy to handle, but I didn’t want to grow as attached as I did last time, so I’ve kind of just touched them enough for them to be used to me and come to me easily, without all the cuddling. I hope that makes slaughter time a bit easier to get through this time.

3 thoughts on “Weigh in at Eleven Weeks Old–New Zealand White Meat Rabbits

  1. I think you’ll be pleased to know that I am deliberately and shamelessly ripping off your PVC rabbit hutch cage design for my rabbitry expansion. It looks like I might be getting some REALLY nice breeding stock in the next couple of weeks so I am expanding. I think I may end up getting a second buck even. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

