Rabbit Weights

I need to weigh Phoebe’s litter. I forgot to do it and they are 3 weeks old now. I kept thinking they were younger, but I actually checked the calendar when I came in and 3 weeks was on Thursday. I suppose it is okay, since I forgot to weigh the 6 week olds and the 10 week olds yesterday because of canning. So I weighed them today. Even taking into account the extra day, they gained incredibly well this week.

Also, as a note to myself, the rabbits are huge fans of collard greens and beet greens. Today was only the second time I’ve fed those to them and they saw them and every single rabbit (except for the bitty babies) raced to the front of their cages as soon as they saw them in my hands. Does anyone who raises rabbits have experience feeding them cabbage? The books say it makes them gassy. Was just wondering what the actual experience is, since organic cabbage is so cheap and there is so much on one. I don’t want to make them uncomfortable, but was hoping a leaf once a week would be okay. They have done fine with kohlrabi and kale which are also brassicas. I am going to chop up a couple of apples from our trees to mix with their celery and carrot bits tomorrow since I am making applesauce anyway.

Lola’s First Litter at Six Weeks:

Kit 1: 2 lb 6 oz
Kit 2: 2 lb 6 oz
Kit 3: 2 lb 6.1 oz
Kit 4: 2 lb 11 oz
Kit 5: 2 lb 9.3 oz
Kit 6: 2 lb 9 oz

Total Litter Weight: 14 lb 15.4 oz

Amount Gained This Week: 5 lb 7.2 oz

Piper’s Fourth Litter at Ten Weeks:

Kit 1: 4 lb 6 oz
Kit 2: 4 lb 13.9 oz
Kit 3: 4 lb 9.8 oz
Kit 4: 5 lb 0.7 oz
Kit 5: 5 lb 6.5 oz
Kit 6: 5 lb 7 oz

Total Litter Weight: 29 lb 11.9 oz

Amount Gained This Week: 5 lb 2.4 oz

I am happy that 3 of Piper’s kits are already over 5 pounds. Only Andromeda was over 5 pounds at this stage (even accounting for the extra day). Most of the rabbits have not hit 5 pounds until week 12, and a couple have at week 11. So yes, very happy with that growth. I know part of it is that they haven’t been able to go outside and exercise in the bad weather, so all they can do is hang out in their cages and eat. We are due for a sunny day on Monday so hopefully they can go out then. Even if they gain more in confinement, I like them to be able to run around outside and have some fresh air and fresh grass.

5 thoughts on “Rabbit Weights

  1. valbjerke says:

    Nothing wrong with cabbage on occasion… I have, in the last few years – made a point of growing things in my garden that I can also feed to my animals. Healthier for them, also brings the cost of raising them down as well. Also dehydrate a lot of kale to top dress their regular feed in the winter. All the animals like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

