Phoebe’s Second Litter–Weight at 3 Weeks (and 2 days)

This is the teeniest of Phoebe’s most recent litter. She is definitely a runt, not just a bit smaller than the others. But she is equivalent to the smallest of Phoebe’s last litter if I take away a few bits of an ounce for the extra 2 days before weighing. She doesn’t look quite as developed as the rest of the litter though. I will keep an eye on her, but she may not be aggressive enough with nursing. Often the littlest ones take longer to get out of the nesting box and chase their mother for extra milk. She can get in and out, but it is harder for her in comparison to the others. Chances are she will end up getting an extra couple of weeks to grow out.

I put a second water bottle on Phoebe’s cage at a lower level so the kits can reach it. They should be starting to drink water and trying to eat pellets any day now. They are already nibbling on whatever greens I give their mother.

The nights are getting colder here. It was 39 degrees Friday morning, but no frost. I checked the weather report and it’s not supposed to dip down below the low 40’s at night all next week, but we almost always have a hard frost by or on Halloween. I need to pick up some more spare water bottles so I will have them in case of a freeze. That way I can just take the frozen ones inside to thaw and have the non-frozen ones ready to pop into place. The shed seems to be staying at a comfortable temperature so far as long as the door is closed. I know they should be fine with their fur coats and ability to thrive in cold weather, but since this is my first winter with them I am sure I will probably worry. Now that I’ve had a few kindlings under my belt, I don’t worry about that anymore. Obviously I need something new to worry about.

I put some books on hold at the library on raising pigs, meat goats, and dairy goats. I’d like to research that as much as I can, even though they are not on the agenda for some time. Mostly I want to see how much work it will likely be. I’ve heard good things about kinder goats as a dual purpose meat and dairy goat, which seems to be a rarity, but would like to research more on those specifically as well.

I know we will have a lot to do our first year on whatever place we end up buying. We’ll need to put in a big garden to meet our needs which will be a major undertaking without piling too much else on our plates. I think we can handle rabbits, quail, and maybe one other type of livestock. The desire to expand quickly will need to be nipped in the bud. That way madness lies. But I can still learn in the meanwhile. And that’s about as much typing as my finger can handle.

Anyway, here’s the weights for the litter.

Phoebe’s 2nd Litter at 3 Weeks Old (and 2 days):

Kit 1: 9.4 oz
Kit 2: 9.2 oz
Kit 3: 9.8 oz
Kit 4: 6.7 oz runt
Kit 5: 10.6 oz biggest
Kit 6: 9.8 oz
Kit 7: 8.2 oz

Total Litter Weight: 3 lb 15.7 oz

2 thoughts on “Phoebe’s Second Litter–Weight at 3 Weeks (and 2 days)

  1. Val Bjerke says:

    That’s awesome that you are moving forward to your own farm. For your first four legged livestock – I would pick goats. They’re very hardy, not costly to feed, don’t need a ton of space, and if you breed them they usually kid out two – though three or four is not uncommon. These you can sell or put in your own freezer. Two or three goats will also give you enough milk for your family and you can make and endless amount of cheeses that are quite simple to make.
    Pigs are quite a project – feed is more critical than one would think, you need space, they are fairly destructive – always busy digging up the land – which takes some time to recover, or their housing etc. Lots of shoveling poop.
    Storey’s Guide to Raising Goats is the best book I’ve found – simple, informative. I still refer to it today. You can get a decent amount of meat from a dairy goat – that’s what we do with all the boys 🙂

    • LuckyRobin says:

      Yep, I have both Storey’s on goats and pigs on hold. They are good books if the rabbit one and the chicken one are anything to go by. If I do pigs, I won’t do more than get the young pigs from another farmer and raise them up to butcher weight. I am leaning more towards goats first, except for the whole escape artist issue. I do like raw goat milk. They sell it at our co-op. And I like most goat cheese, too, except feta I can take or leave.

      What does goat meat taste like? Or I guess what is it most similar to? I like lamb, venison, elk, moose, ostrich, duck, rabbit, and bison of the less regular meats people eat, so I figure I’d like it, but am curious as to where it falls on the flavor scale. My mind says it is probably similar to lamb.

Leave a Reply

