Busy Saturday and New Zealand White Kit Weights at 12 Weeks and 9 Weeks Old

Today, well technically yesterday, since it is after midnight, was spent doing numerous non-internet related things. Mostly avoiding the internet so I didn’t accidentally get spoiled on the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special before I could watch it. And then catching up on all the internet stuff I missed while avoiding it. I generally liked the episode, though I find Moffat to be a spotty writer at best who even ignores his own canon, not to mention all of the history of the show before he came on as head writer or anything that even faintly resembles continuity. But he didn’t mess with my ship so I’m happy. Enough said.

This morning we drove down to the ranch and picked up our free range, soy free, GMO free, organic, humanely raised heritage turkey for Thanksgiving. It looks beautiful. It should for $124. It was a splurge, but it will be well worth it. We had one last year and it was out of this world. I have never tasted turkey that delicious before. One of the reasons I watch our money so carefully is so we can buy this type of food. It is important to me that if I can’t grow it myself, I can buy it locally within a 50-mile food shed (unless it is citrus), raised the way I would raise it. While we were there I also picked up 5 chuck roasts and 8 packages of hamburger to can as well as some pork chops, bacon, and a couple of lamb shanks. We probably won’t be back there until well into January.

The husband received a $50 gift card to a grocery store from his work, so that will help offset spending so much of the grocery budget on the turkey, even though I did save for the expense of the turkey. Last year it was a $40 gift card. They give one at Thanksgiving and then one at Christmas. I will likely use it to buy organic produce for canning and making soup stock.

Tomorrow, or technically later today, we will be slaughtering Lola’s first litter of six kits. They are all over 5 pounds and we need to get the last of Phoebe’s kits moved out of her cage. She puts up with them well, but you can tell she is tired of their rambunctiousness. And I’d like her to have the majority of her pregnancy to herself.

None of the water bottles froze over so I think the weatherproofing has made all the difference on the rabbit shed. I had been wearing both a sweatshirt and coat to do the chores in there, but found I didn’t need both.

I really need to trim the rabbits’ toenails. Since they aren’t outside anymore they aren’t digging so their nails are really starting to grow. That should be a lot of fun to deal with. The husband will have to help me. At least it is supposed to be easier with NZ Whites as you can see where the quick is since the nail is transparent. But I don’t imagine any of them will want to be still for it. We will wrap them in a towel burrito style. I have styptic powder on hand to stop any bleeding if we screw up.

I found a place online that ships quail meat and eggs, so will place an order for that in December. That way we can try them and be sure we like them before launching into raising them. It’s outside my 50 mile food shed, but I have tried to find some available closer and failed. Besides, if we do like them it will allow us to eventually have a zero mile food shed for quail since we’ll start raising them in the spring. A fair trade off I’d say.

Here are the weights of the kits I weighed on Thursday.

Lola’s First Litter at 12 Weeks Old:

Kit 1: 5 lb 11.3 oz
Kit 2: 5 lb 8.2 oz
Kit 3: 5 lb 13.4 oz
Kit 4: 6 lb 4.5 oz
Kit 5: 5 lb 6.5 oz
Kit 6: 5 lb 13 oz

Total Litter Weight: 34 lb 8.9 oz

Amount Gained This Week: 2 lb 14.4 oz

Phoebe’s Second Litter at 9 Weeks Old:

Kit 1: 4 lb 0.5 oz
Kit 2: 3 lb 14.5 oz
Kit 3: 3 lb 12 oz
Kit 4: 3 lb 10.8 oz
Kit 5: 3 lb 12.2 oz
Kit 6: 4 lb 1.9 oz
Kit 7: 3 lb 14.1 oz

Total Litter Weight: 27 lb 2 oz

Amount Gained This Week: 4 lb 6.8 oz

2 thoughts on “Busy Saturday and New Zealand White Kit Weights at 12 Weeks and 9 Weeks Old

  1. Mary @ HomegrownontheHill says:

    That turkey will be amazing I bet! There is a local farm that sells free range turkeys but we’ve never tried it yet….maybe next yr. I’ve been thinking about quail too! Were you wanting them for meat, eggs, or both?

Leave a Reply

