More Options

Today the husband and I used our brand spanking new electric meat grinder to make ground rabbit. This will give us some more cooking options besides fried rabbit and roast rabbit and boiled rabbit and baked rabbit. Now we can move on to meatloaves, burgers, meatballs, and sausage patties. From 3 rabbits we got three 1.25 pound bags, one 1.75 pound bag, and then set aside 1.25 lb for dinner tonight. We’re making cheeseburgers. I hope it turns out well. I don’t see why it wouldn’t.

I was in charge of cutting the meat off the bones while the husband ran it through the grinder.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The above photo shows the amount of meat gotten off of two hindquarters. It’s quite a good amount. We saved all the bones with the meat we couldn’t get off and we will be making soup stock with it tomorrow.

Ground rabbit looks a lot like ground pork. It went through the grinder and came out very wet.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to drain it a couple of times before bagging it up. It looks good though. I was afraid it wouldn’t look very appetizing. Speaking of not looking appetizing we ground the 3 livers as well. It came out looking sort of like puree. I’ll spare you a photo. Well, if we don’t like it we can feed it to the chickens I suppose.

It was a lot of work, but I think worth the final outcome. About 1/4 of the way through the 3rd rabbit I managed to poke my index finger with the boning knife. It was bleeding so the husband had to take over. I talked him through it. I think he did a pretty good job. It was intuitive for me as I’ve cut up so many rabbits now that I kind of know where all the bones are. He’s not cut them up before. He is in charge of the killing, skinning, and gutting and I do the rest. Well, now he has another skill.

It took us about 2 hours, and that was with running it through the grinder twice. I’m sure our time will improve as we get more practice. We’ll do the other four in a couple of days. Most of it will go to ground meat, but I’ll do most of one rabbit up for stir-fry meat. Yet another option for us to give us some variety.

6 thoughts on “More Options

  1. Is it inappropriate to say bunny burgers? I’ve always loved rabbit.

  2. yum! I love rabbit. I often braise the hindquarters and then pull the meat off. Toss it with a mustard-herb-sour cream sauce and spaetzle or egg noddles and it’s divine. =)

  3. Wow, I’m getting kind of hungry. You didn’t mention how the burgers turned out? Did you have to add fat to the grinding process?

    • LuckyRobin says:

      I mentioned it at the end of another post. They were fantastic burgers. I liked them better than beef hamburgers and I am totally a beef person. The only fat we put in was what was on the rabbits themselves, so not much at all. We put just a smidgeon of tomato sauce in the burgers to help them retain some moisture and used a bit of olive oil in the pan. It worked a treat.

Leave a Reply

