First Times–Making Rabbit Sausage

The husband and I decided to make rabbit sausage with the last batch of rabbits we processed and ran through the meat grinder. We ended up doing six pounds of sausage in patties. We like sausage patties more than links. They are easier to cook. From that batch of rabbits we also got two pounds of stir-fry meat, 8 quarts of soup stock from the bones and ribs, 2 quart size baggies of cooked meat from the ribs, 2 “wings” and 1.75 pounds of burger consumed over two meals.

I have made our own sausage patties for years with pork and beef because store bought sausages always had sugar and nitrates or nitrites in them. I have refined my recipe over those years to match my family’s pallet. We like a mild sausage, but it is easy enough to tweak the heat upwards by doubling the red pepper flakes or adding cayenne pepper.

Rabbit Sausage

2 pounds ground rabbit meat
2 tsp sage
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp black pepper (preferably freshly ground)
½ tsp oregano
½ tsp coriander
¼ tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

Combine herbs and spices and mix well until evenly distributed. Add to 2 pounds of ground rabbit meat working it well in. Form sausage into patties of the size you desire.

We ended up with 32 patties out of six pounds of meat. I didn’t make them all the same size as my husband and son will want bigger ones and my daughter and I are happier with a little bit smaller ones. I froze them on cookie sheets for a couple of hours so they wouldn’t stick together and then bagged them up.

6 thoughts on “First Times–Making Rabbit Sausage

  1. hungrytommy says:

    This is exciting. I would love to try rabbit sausage. I’m now dreaming of a rabbit sausage pizza. What are you using it for?

  2. valbjerke says:

    Unrelated to sausage – I would very much like to email you some information on rabbits – though you likely have a glut of it already – if you are interested, please email me and I will reply.
    bjerke.bjerke@gmail.com

  3. Georgia says:

    Hi, an internet search of “meat rabbit breeder in whatcom county” brought up your blog. I am in Ferndale and looking to get into meat rabbit raising this year. I’m looking for a local breeder to buy rabbits from. Do you sell live rabbits? Or, can you put me in touch with a breeder in Whatcom County? Thank you! Georgia

Leave a Reply

