Pantry Challenge and My Homemade Pancakes Recipe

So for the rest of the month I’m joining in on the pantry challenge, basically only eating from your pantry/freezer stores or what you produce on the homestead yourself. I will say though that I am going to continue to buy milk from a local farm, so it’s more of a 99% thing for me. I couldn’t buy enough milk to last until the end of the month without it going bad and we don’t have goats or cows, so getting my glass bottled milk is the closest thing I can get to it.

I actually started this yesterday but since it was airport day, didn’t really have the time to jump into blogging about it. I did buy a basil plant. I couldn’t help myself, but that is gardening. I just have to keep it out of the kitchen window at night until it warms up a bit more.

So today we had milk, homemade pancakes, and some ham that has been in the freezer for a while. I bought a big, uncured one a while back and then sliced it up into pieces and froze it in baggies in portions that wouldn’t go bad before the ham did. I made our pancakes from scratch with what I had on hand. Which tends to be organic baking products, but of course these can be made with ordinary ones.

pancakes

My Pancakes

1 ½ cups of organic unbleached flour
1 tbsp organic brown sugar*
3 ½ tsp Bob’s Red Mill organic baking powder
1 tsp organic sea salt
1 ¼ cups organic milk
1 egg from our backyard chickens
3 tbsp organic butter, melted

Sift together dry ingredients. Make a well and pour in wet ingredients. Mix until smooth.

Cook on medium high in a greased** pan or griddle, ¼ cup per pancake. Cook first side until top bubbles all over and then flip and cook until bottom side is brown. Makes 8 pancakes (or 4 if you want to make them twice the size).

*You can use white sugar. I prefer brown in pancakes.

**I just butter my pan, but you can use sunflower oil or another oil that does not impart flavor, lard, or tallow. I don’t use canola/soybean/corn/vegetable oils anymore due to GMO’s, but you could if you do.

It was a late breakfast because everyone slept in. Well, I got up and took care of the animals and then went back to sleep for a couple of hours. Anyway, so we kind of skipped lunch and did an early dinner, which was the homemade pizza above. It has tomato sauce sprinkled with dried basil and oregano and topped with mozzarella cheese, pepperoni (always in the freezer), diced ham, a couple of handfuls of fire-roasted red, yellow, orange, and green peppers and onions that were in the freezer, and four fresh torn up basil leaves, then topped with a handful of cheddar and another handful of mozzarella. It was so good. I love putting both fresh and dried basil on pizza.

I am a little bit worried about Sienna. She doesn’t really seem to be gaining weight very quickly. She’s completely switched over to the new pellets now and I haven’t given her anything else besides hay and the oats that the breeder sent home with us, unless she ate a bit of the half a kale leaf we gave Cinnabun, but I’m pretty sure Cinnabun ate it all. Cinnabun is gaining nicely and is over 6 pounds, but Sienna, just 3.5 weeks younger, is 4 pounds 0.1 oz. And I can feel her backbone. Not prominently, but certainly more than I feel I should. Still, I compare it to all the weights I took of kits at 9 weeks old and she’s average for a kit from a doe’s first litter.

Sienna’s active and alert and was crawling all over us. Maybe I am just being paranoid. I think I will fix up a tablespoon of Critical Care to give to her tomorrow. If she’ll eat it. I have seen her eating hay, but I haven’t seen her at the feed cup since we ran out of the old feed we’d been mixing with the new. I did see her eating oats 2 days ago, just haven’t seen it for a while. Truth be told, Cinnabun is a feed cup hog, so maybe that’s why I haven’t seen her. She waits until Cinnabun is done. I did put a second feed cup in.

It’s probably nothing, but after what happened with Sweetie Belle, I am hyper vigilant when it comes to making sure they are eating. I don’t want to lose her. She’s such a little love. It’s not even the investment at this point. She’s already in my heart.

Leave a Reply

