My Baby Turned 14 Today and My Fried Fish Recipe for Fish and Chips

So my youngest son had his birthday today and even if I hadn’t been doing the pantry challenge we still would have had to make a cake from scratch for him because of his allergies to food additives and chemicals. My daughter loves to bake so she made the cake last night, a simple white cake, and then made the frosting today from the recipe on the back of the cocoa can. It was delicious.

For breakfast today we had scrambled eggs from the backyard hens and rabbit sausage from the backyard rabbits. 0 mile foodshed for the win! Lunch was spaghetti from our several pounds of spaghetti, sauce from the freezer that was leftover from a lasagna I made at Christmas, and meatballs that were made with half ground rabbit, half ground pork, and some garlic and Parmesan cheese I had on hand. I usually keep several cheeses in the freezer so that I can pull them out as needed. I had some cod in the freezer so for dinner tonight we had fish and chips. We have a french fry maker gadget and since I have potatoes on hand, made fries.

Cook time may vary depending on how hot your oil is.

fish and chips

One pound of white fish
2 cups organic flour
2 to 3 eggs
2 cups panko bread crumbs (or any bread crumbs, I just have a gallon size container of panko)
1 TBSP water
1 TBSP Bob’s Red Mill corn starch
1 TSP salt
1/4 TSP pepper
Sunflower or coconut oil for frying

Cut fish into 4 to 6 pieces or smaller if you want fish sticks.

Mix flour, corn starch, salt and pepper in one bowl. Mix 2 eggs and water (you may need the third egg depending on size of eggs) in another bowl. In third bowl put panko bread crumbs. Dip fish in flour mixture, then egg mixture. Allow egg to drip off so it doesn’t get gummy. Dip in panko.

Fry in hot oil (350 degrees or so) for 2 to 4 minutes, turning once, until breading is crispy and fish is cooked through.

On the rabbit front, Sienna seems to be doing much better today. I watched her eat this morning. She ate hay and oats and seemed like she had a much healthier appetite. She didn’t gain any weight, but she didn’t lose any either. Her backbone feels less prominent. She was very alert and when I took her out of her cage she wanted to play and explore and even did some jumping. She’s going to be one of those rabbits who can jump three feet high. I am far less worried about her than I was a few days ago. She’s grooming herself well, too, so whatever it was, I think it has passed.

We weighed Kalia and she is 7 lb 12.8 oz at almost 4 months old. My guess was 7 3/4 pounds so I was pretty close to spot on there. She is doing great for a bunny that had to be force nursed for several days at the beginning of her life. She is almost the same size as Serena and they are a day apart. She could actually hit breeding weight by 6 months old if she keeps up this growth, but I think it is more likely she will hit weight at 7 or 8 months. Maybe she will surprise me, though. She has with everything else so far. I won’t breed her if she never hits weight, though.

All of the other bunnies have done great. It has been 4 weeks now since Andromeda has bit anyone. She really does seem to have settled down finally with all the extra attention and head petting. I was so close to getting rid of her. We’ll see how she does the next time I breed her and she has babies. Lola let me pet her today. I know! I was excited, too. She really hates to be touched, but she stayed at the cage door so I took a chance, and she was leaning into my hand today and everything. Maybe the pregnancy hormones are mellowing her out.

I checked on their website and Joe’s gardens has some starts available, including lettuce. So I think I will pick some up tomorrow and plant a couple of window boxes with them. I’ll just keep them inside the windows instead of outside. Yes, I will still start some from seeds, but I’d like to get a quicker start on the greens. I am craving greens like crazy and the dandelions haven’t started coming up yet. I think I will also put some radish seeds in the window boxes. I have been craving those as well and I can eat both the tops for the greens and roots for the vegetables and it takes only 30 days. Since I still can’t do any outdoor gardening, this will have to do for now.

Leave a Reply

