What I’m Reading

What I'm Reading

It seems like for the past year, I’ve been in research mode almost all the time. This week is no different. I’ve got several books going at the moment, with a stack of several more from the library waiting to be picked up.

Although we probably won’t end up building our greenhouse from scratch, I like to see what all the options are. So the above book by Mark Freeman is currently taking up residence in my van. It’s my car book for when I get stuck waiting for something or someone in the car.

Then there’s my bathroom book, something that gets read a page at a time, generally in little snatches or when I’m soaking in the tub. Currently that is this book by Meg Stout:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the first time I have given in and checked out an Idiot’s Guide book to anything. I have pretty much been anti-them because of the title just on principle. But this one actually has how to build the aquaponics system in it, segment by segment, so I overrode my usual aversion to the series and am reading it. I haven’t given up on the idea of aquaponics at all, but I don’t think it is going to happen this year. Well, not more than the little fish tank one. I feel like I still have so much to learn in this area and I’d rather have the ducks this year than the aquaponics set-up.

Next is my purse book, generally a paperback, because that is what will fit. It gets read while in waiting at the doctor’s office, the chiropractor’s office, and the pharmacy. Sometimes it will replace my tub soaking book.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

This one is pure fiction and is sort of a when the revolution comes and the government turns into a dictatorship, end of life as we know it, sort of book. I have just started it at the doctor’s this morning, so no idea if it is any good or not. Poul Anderson did a blurb on it and I like his stuff so I’ll likely like this after I get further in than page 10.

Then there is my bedside table book.

Living With Goats

This one gets read when I am trying to go to sleep. I am almost done with it, but have managed to misplace it. I hate when that happens.

I’ve got some sheep books out and a couple of duck books on hold that should come in soon. I’m learning a lot about things I don’t know much about, which is fun and interesting and a necessity if I am ever going to get from where I am to where I want to eventually be.

I haven’t posted on the pantry challenge in a couple of days. It has been going fine. I still haven’t bought anything but milk and the fish that was on sale that I ended up freezing instead of canning. I was hurting too much in my hip to monitor a pressure canner for as long as it takes to can fish.

The rabbits are all doing fine. Sienna and Cinnabun are growing well. Serena and Kalia are, too. I keep forgetting to take the camera out there to get photos.

We lost one of the white leghorns the other day, Eggshell. One minute she was there, the next she was gone. It was just that fast. We are down to 9 laying hens, so we will be getting some more in April. Half of the chickens are molting so the egg count is between 3 and 5 a day. Eggshell hadn’t laid in a week so I doubt we’ll see a drop from her death. Ecru doesn’t even seem to notice she’s gone. Used to be they were always together, but not in the last few months.

Mom is planning on raising meat chickens at the same time as the new laying hens. I wasn’t sure where she was going to put them. Behind the garage. I always forget about that space because it looks like it is so close to the property line fence, from the front of the garage, but it is actually a good 12 feet wide by…well, really long. Plus there is a strip along the side of the garage that is about 4 feet wide by 40 feet long. Plenty of room to raise 30 meat birds and a handful of layers. I am thinking about doing a batch of meat birds for us when she is done. It would be a later hatch, and we would probably only do 15 or so. We don’t eat near as much chicken since we started raising rabbits, but I do like to have it at least twice a month. I wonder if I could sneak in a couple of midget white turkeys, too? I suppose that would be pushing my luck.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. valbjerke says:

    Sounds familiar – I have stacks of books – animal books, how to books, gardening books – I always figure it’s good to keep learning. There’s always a stack taking up a chair at the kitchen table – at the moment – three on soap making (I’ve started making soap again), gardening catalogues, horse genetics, horse veterinary encyclopedia, and a book on leather tooling (I want to make saddlebags for my horse), along with a few others. I still look things up online – but will take a book over the Internet any day 😊

Leave a Reply

