Dinner from the Pantry–Shrimp and Peppers in Garlic Butter Sauce

Dinner from the Freezer--Shrimp Stir-Fry

So last night’s dinner was probably the simplest one I’ve made in a very long time. A couple days ago I took a one pound bag of frozen, cooked shrimp out of the freezer to thaw. I had a one pound bag of bell pepper strips in the freezer also. And of course I always have butter, spices, and garlic on hand, so I made up a nice, fast, simple dish based on these things.

Ingredients:

1 pound of cooked large shrimp
1 pound bag of multi-colored bell pepper strips
1/2 stick of butter
3 tbsp of minced garlic
salt
pepper
onion salt

Melt 1/4 stick of butter in a pan set on medium and saute your garlic in it for about 30 seconds. Add the bag of frozen bell pepper strips, breaking apart any clumps. Turn heat up to medium-high. Any ice will melt down to help make the sauce.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and onion salt. Cook covered for five minutes, stirring twice. Add the other 1/4 stick of butter and melt down, stirring into peppers. Taste the sauce and adjust your seasonings if necessary.

Add shrimp and stir well into peppers and sauce. Cover and cook for 3 minutes, stirring twice.

Serve over a bed of rice or on its own.

It was very good. The kids both had seconds. I will have to go pick up some more bags of bell pepper strips and shrimp at TJ’s though. I’ve blown through my supply now. And since this meal took me 10 minutes start to finish, I definitely want to make it again. We may try it with rabbit, too.

Leave a Reply

