Too Ill to Write Much

I’m still feeling pretty awful most of the time right now. I don’t have the energy to sit down and do long blog posts. I did a couple of video updates in my good moments. I hope this virus passes soon. At least the garden and birds are doing well.

We lost 3 kits this week, 2 of Phoebe’s 5 week old brown kits, and one of Serenity’s 9 week olds. I was expecting the older kit to go. It had stopped eating and drinking. We tried dropper feeding but it wasn’t interested. I wasn’t expecting the other two to go. One of Phoebe’s broke its neck. The other got diarrhea. I’m switching feed. It is not hygiene, so feed has to be the only other thing it might be.

So from the initial litters of 6, 7, 6, and 4 we are down to 5, 4, 3, and 3. So from 23 we are down to 15. 8 lost. Not to mention losing Lola and the pregnant Piper. Sometimes raising livestock, really, really sucks. If there weren’t so much joy in it, too, I’m not sure I’d want to keep up with it right now.

Leave a Reply

