New Zealand Kit Weights at 10 Weeks Old

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Look who has her eyes open! Actually, today they all did. I am already getting too attached to the black one. I do hope it is a girl. Already it is very friendly. Probably because we can’t keep our hands off her and have handled her so much. I really am enjoying having some more colors in the nesting box. I mean, Phoebe’s litter was pretty, but they were all mixed colors. Kalia’s litter seems to have more solid colors.

I did weights yesterday for the 10 week olds, getting us back on our regular weigh day. I didn’t put them in order here, just on the spread sheet.

Phoebe’s Kits:

Kit 1: 5 lb 0.9 oz
Kit 2: 5 lb 10.2 oz

Andromeda’s Kits:

Kit 1: 4 lb 10.1 oz
Kit 2: 4 lb 5.1 oz
Kit 3: 4 lb 9.5 oz

I also weighed Firefly and Luna Blue, who are 5 lb 10.2 oz and 5 lb 9.3 oz respectively. Luna has almost caught up to Firefly. It would not surprise me if Luna passed Firefly next week. She really filled out this week. We have Firefly fully on the Conway feed now, but she still doesn’t like it as much as the Purina Fiber 3. But I see her eating and she is gaining, just slower than she would if she had the food she preferred. But I just don’t want to keep doing two different feeds. That just makes everything complicated and then what happens when she is old enough to have babies? Then I’d have to feed them that expensive stuff while they grow out? Plus Conway is no GMO and I don’t think that is the case for Purina.

We finally finished off the hay we had on hand and got to start on the beautiful stuff from this year’s second cutting. It is much greener and smells so fresh, and the rabbits were just kicking up their heels over it.

The Barnevelders did good overnight in the chicken coop, but they didn’t go into it with the other chickens tonight. We still had to catch them and put them in. I hope that they will get the idea soon and start to go in when the older hens go in. Or at least go in on their own so we aren’t playing chase. The turkeys still don’t understand why the Barnevelders aren’t in with them anymore and why they can’t come out of the pen. I feel bad for them, but I don’t really have a choice. The ducks are doing fine and gave us 3 more eggs today.

My knee is still very bad. I was in a lot of pain today. Still am, actually. I did find my cane though and used that today when we went out. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt the need. Fortunately the house is set up with handicap rails in the main hallway so I can get along without it inside. I hope the swelling goes down soon. I don’t have time for it to hurt this bad. As much as it hurts, though, I had a much more positive attitude today. Probably because I at least slept last night, even if it was the sleep of the heavily medicated.

Leave a Reply

