Simple Beef Stew

So I’m doing a challenge on my other blog of no eating out for a month. It started last night. I wanted something hearty, but also something that was fast and easy, so I turned to my pantry shelves and chose to make beef stew from my home-canned foods. I have never made beef stew before, though I have made chili numerous times from scratch. I didn’t think it would be that hard and it wasn’t.

Ingredients needed:

1 quart of home-canned beef cubes
1 quart of home-canned potatoes
1 quart of home-canned carrots
Flour

I poured all of the beef juice off the beef cubes and into a pot. Then I took about 4 tbsp of flour and mixed it into the cold juice for the start of gravy before turning the heat on. I poured the juice off the carrots and the potatoes and into the pot. I then brought the heat up to high and whisked it all together. Once it boiled I let it go for one minute before adding the beef, carrots, and potatoes to the pot. I turned the heat down to medium and let it come up to a slow boil. Once it began boiling, I turned the heat down to low and let it simmer with a lid on for 20 minutes, stirring a couple times.

It had thickened nicely, but not too much. It was really the perfect consistency. It was enough for five of us to have one bowl each and the male teenager and the husband to have two bowls each, with one bowl leftover for my lunch today. It was even better the second day.

I was surprised at how delicious it was. I added no seasonings. The only salt in there was from when I canned the ingredients. It had a good beef flavor with undertones of carrots and potatoes.

My son declared it the best stew he’d ever tasted. Everyone else really liked it, too. My daughter was happy to finally find a replacement for Dinty Moore, which we gave up on buying 2 years ago, as they had futzed with their beef stew ingredients and ratios so many times it no longer tasted like the original recipe and the texture had become unappealing to us. I was bummed because they were the only brand that didn’t put junk in their stew. But now we have a good go to recipe for it that doesn’t take much time or effort on my part.

I will try this again next week with canned rabbit meat instead and hopefully it will be just as tasty. My son thought I should make pot pies with the beef stew in the future. I may consider it when I am feeling well enough to do pie crusts.

2 thoughts on “Simple Beef Stew

  1. I did this last night. We had part of a roasted chicken left over, so I made chicken noodle stew and a loaf of homemade bread. Always tastier than I expect it to be!

Leave a Reply

