Two Years for This Blog

And as another lovely sign of impending spring, the crocus above are blooming in our yard.

Well, I’ve been writing this blog for two years now. My life has changed dramatically from the day I started it. Back then we only had chickens. Since then we’ve added rabbits, ducks (which we hadn’t raised for a couple of years), and turkeys. My garden has expanded. I’ve canned all kinds of food. I’ve located many farms to purchase food from that I don’t grow myself. We are much further into self-sufficiency than I’d ever thought we’d be while still living here. I’ve learned a lot, experienced a lot, and researched even more. I love this little urban farm and I am so happy to have it.

I am not sure what the next year will bring, but with the sale of the house closing in less than 2 weeks, the promise of being able to buy a 5 acre farm is getting closer. As much as I’d love to just pack up and go now, I know that reasonably we will probably be here another year to 18 months. And during that time I will continue my research in aquaponics, goats for milk and meat, quail, sheep, greenhouse growing, fruit and nut trees, and better ways to garden.

I will continue in my quest to raise my rabbits organically, which has not been an option yet, due to space constraints (can’t grow all I’d need or pasture as much as I need) and not having organic rabbit pellets available locally in more than a 5 lb bag (which is not economically feasible). I know much of what I can do to raise the rabbits without pellets, but I need the space to grow bush willow and a rabbit garden. I need the space to grow and dry the vegetables, herbs, weeds, and seeds they can eat. I need the space to grow fodder from organic seeds. I need to either find a source of hay that has not been chemically fertilized or has not been fertilized by animals who don’t live an organic, pastured life. Preferably, I’d like to grow my own hay if possible.

I want to be ready, so that when we do buy that farm, there will be far less learning as I go.

2 thoughts on “Two Years for This Blog

  1. Sounds like you’ve made great progress! Good luck in your farm search. 🙂

Leave a Reply

