I Can’t Believe How Well the Garden is Doing

Long View of the Garden

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 001

The Peas are Sure Climbing

I don’t think I’ve ever been so far ahead on the garden before. Between the mild winter and the beautifully warm spring we were able to do so much early. Even though today is not gorgeous, it is still 63 degrees and the plants are very happy with it.

We are putting the supports in for the tomatoes. I’m not sure when they’ll be big enough to need them, but that’s one of those things that if you blink one day they’ll be overgrown and then it’ll be hard to get them installed. I think I will end up planting 5 more tomato plants and then call that good.

That will give me 16 plants and if they all do well I’ll be over my head in tomatoes. I want to make enough spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce, and ordinary tomato sauce to get through the year. And make some ketchup, though I don’t know if I’ll have enough to do that. It really depends on how well they produce. If what I’ve gotten so far growing this way is any indication, it will be a bumper year, though.

I want to plant as many peppers as possible. Although I may have too many seedlings, my priority is to have enough paprika peppers to dry and grind my paprika supply for the year. Then secondly to strip and dice and freeze enough sweet peppers for the year. If after that I can then also do a good supply of the dried or frozen jalapenos, that will be icing on the cake.

We go through a lot of peppers and onions during the year in stir-fries or chili. I have 3 gallon size bags of them left in the freezer, so I did pretty well with freezing my supply last year. While I won’t make it until these ones are ready, I made it a lot closer than I thought I would get. It was nice not to have to shell out so much money for organic (when I can find them) peppers throughout the year.

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 018

George Hanging with the Chicken.

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 017

Sunbathing ducks.

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 003

Willow the Barnevelder Mid-molt

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 014

George

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 015

2015 French Biointensive Organic Raised Bed Garden Update 4 019

Gina in the Duck Coop Nesting Box Where She Lays Her Eggs

One thought on “I Can’t Believe How Well the Garden is Doing

  1. Danica says:

    Wow, look at it go! Things are starting to heat up where I am but nothing like this!

Leave a Reply

