Meet the Meat Chicks

The meat chicks arrived a day early, but fortunately we were ready for them. It was really nice that they arrived at 11 a.m. instead of 6 a.m., even if they were a day early. They are so tiny. I always forget just how little new chicks are compared to the three day olds they generally have at the feed stores. All of them were alive and they all looked really healthy. I am happy about that.

Ruby had her kits yesterday. She had 5. I wish I knew why the litter was so small. Serenity has not had hers and she doesn’t look uncomfortable. I wonder if she was a miss? She’s always day 31 like clockwork. Felix had 5 fall offs with her and she lifted and I know he is fertile. I don’t know what to make of it. They were all due Sunday. Phoebe I am unsure of. She wouldn’t let me check. I hope she doesn’t have a stuck kit. She looks uncomfortable. When the son gets home from school we’ll take her out of the cage and search it.

The garden is going like gangbusters. We have peas!

I am doing an eat from the pantry/freezer/garden challenge for the month of June. Well, starting today actually. Tonight’s dinner is a picnic ham, baked potatoes, and green beans. Leftover ham will go for sandwiches for lunches and into omelettes for breakfasts. I am allowed to buy milk and I am allowed to buy strawberries for making jam since they are in season locally, but otherwise, I will try to stay out of the stores all month.

2 thoughts on “Meet the Meat Chicks

  1. Twin Acres Homestead says:

    I like your eating from the pantry challenge, what a great way to get unused food used up. Glad all your chicks came healthy, we are hoping to order some in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

