A Lot Going On

I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks. I’ve had a lot going on. We butchered 8 rabbits earlier in the week and then last night I cut them up. I made a video for my kids to watch since they want to learn how to do this and I figured they could watch it over and over again before trying for themselves.

We had 2 rabbits kindle and another one miss, the first weekend of July. We are skipping a month of breeding due to the heat and won’t breed again until the night of the full moon. I’ve had two misses this spring and summer and it was a different buck each time, but it was always the buck housed on the second tier and not on a lower tier of cages. Now that I have individual fans on the bucks, especially the second tier one, I am hoping it won’t happen again. Of course we have been in the low 70’s this week instead of the 80’s and 90’s, so I think any temporary sterility that is going on will hopefully pass.

This time around Firefly had 7, but the runt died and Persephone had 5. Luna Blue missed.

I’ve been drying herbs like crazy, both on the wall and in the dehydrator.

My Nesco dehydrator broke after one week of use. I won’t ever be using their machines again. It just stopped working. It’s not like I was running it non-stop either. Apparently this happens quite often with their dehydrators. If it hadn’t been a gift I would have read all the reviews first and certainly wouldn’t have bought one myself. I ended up ordering my Excalibur finally and I am thrilled with it. It is much better of a machine and dries more evenly to boot. I’ve done a lot, but I have a lot more to do. I want to supply the needs for the year as much as possible and get all the medicinal herbs and flowers ready for making medicine as well.

I have been studying a lot on how to do the herbal medicines, reading and watching youtube videos. I also bought a very good book (so far) on herbal medicine for beginners. And I’ve been keeping a notebook with the different herbs and what they do and will be adding recipes to it as I make them.

I can’t remember if I talked about our turkey tom George and the hawk, but he is doing much better now, and the hawk has not been back since their fight. He is almost walking without a limp now and has been able to get up on the roost again at night for the past two nights. He is afraid to get down, though. Probably worried about jarring the sore leg when he lands. We just lift him down in the morning. He’s a big boy, at least 20 pounds, but he’s very cooperative so that helps. And the chicken we thought the hawk had got showed up at head count last night after being missing for a couple of weeks. I don’t know if she was just too scared to come home and was off sitting on a nest being broody somewhere. But I was thrilled she came back, especially when we were sure the hawk had killed her and carried her off. Small miracles, I guess.

The garden has been going crazy. I’ve picked 5 zucchini this week with more coming, peas, radishes, chard, lettuce, sorrel, basil, thyme, marjoram, calendula, sage, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries. I’ve got green tomatoes, several immature crookneck squash coming, some small peppers, and lots of green beans coming on. There are baby watermelons beginning and I will have two cucumbers ready in a few days.

Here is the most recent garden update.

I really love this growing method. It is the best one I’ve ever used and by far the most successful.

Well, I hope that catches things up. I will try to post a little more often.

Leave a Reply

