Meat Supply

The chicken video does show a chicken bleeding out (but not being killed) if that sort of thing bothers you.

Yesterday we butchered 25 of our meat chickens. It was a long process. I worked from noon to two, took a break to pick up my son from school, and then worked from 2:30 to 5:30. I personally gutted 19 of the 25 chickens. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I didn’t have to do any of the killing myself and got out of pulling most of the pinfeathers, which I hate, since I was doing the “worst” job.

This year was the first year I learned to gut chickens. I have helped with other things during butchering time, usually cutting the whole birds into pieces, but this is a new homesteading skill for me.

While it is not the most pleasant thing in the world, it was not nearly as gross as I thought it would be. It was really like getting an anatomy lesson in chickens and I got pretty fast at it. I could gut them in 5 minutes. The time-consuming part was really getting the pinfeathers out that the plucker missed.

Today we will be cutting up the whole birds and packaging them into meal-sized portions. They didn’t get as big as we wanted, mostly because the hatchery sent us a lot of hens instead of all roosters. 23 of the 25 birds we processed were hens. There were eggs starting to develop in them, which is how we could tell. We ordered 60 roosters, so this does not bode well for our total outcome and explains why growth was less than expected.

At least we got the 2 roosters who were crowing. We are going to let the others grow out longer and just cull any that start crowing. If there actually are anymore roosters.

We also picked up our beef supply last week on Thursday. We got 1/4 of a grass fed beef. The video below does show a beef carcass hanging if that bothers you.

I haven’t been very good about posting since I broke my nose and got a mild concussion, but things are starting to get better. I have been doing a video on the youtube channel almost every day, though. Something about the white computer page when typing just makes the headaches bad, but that is starting to improve now. I am plenty functional and mostly the headaches just come on when I do too much or at night time now. Or when I sneeze. Sneezing has definitely not been fun since I broke my nose, but even that is starting to not be so traumatic. Hopefully after the full six weeks of healing has passed the sneezing won’t hurt at all.

Leave a Reply

