An Update

I finished knitting my first pair of socks. They are lumpy, bumpy, and kind of messed up, but they are warm and wearable and I learned a lot so hopefully my second pair comes out better. Since these are just to wear around the house and would never fit in shoes anyway (well, maybe snow boots), that is just fine. They are already making a huge difference on the non-carpeted floors in the bathroom, kitchen, and laundry area.

Luna’s kits and foster kits are growing up strong and healthy. Even the little one that I had to feed with an eye shadow sponge and raw, warm goat’s milk.

I have been treating Cinnabun’s eyes every day with Vetericyn. She is improving greatly and no longer acting like she is blind. A large part of the milkiness has left her eyes and you can see the brown of the iris and the black of the pupil as two different colors. She comes up to the front of her cage to greet me again and doesn’t hide out in the back corner of her cage. At first she really resisted being taken out of her cage for treatment, but as she sees better she doesn’t seem to be afraid of it anymore.

The three bred rabbits are all acting pregnant. Especially Serena who is only ever affectionate when she is pregnant. Otherwise she never wants to be touched. When she is pregnant she begs to be pet. Since she missed with the last two breedings I am taking this as a very positive sign.

My garden is still growing. I am really quite amazed at what I am still getting.

We were able to put quite a bit of money away towards our down payment this month due to my husband’s Christmas bonus. We need to save another $3000 and we will be at the halfway point. I wish we could buy now, but I know that waiting a while longer will put us in better shape financially. Sometimes it is hard to wait, but I know it will be worth it.

I am attempting to cut our grocery budget in half for the next month in an effort to save money towards the down payment. We have quite a lot in the pantry and freezers and we can totally do it if I keep up the self-discipline and don’t give in to what the kids want, namely junk food and eating out.

2 thoughts on “An Update

  1. Arlene says:

    Your socks look lovely and warm. Like anything practice makes perfect. Next pair will be even better. 🙂

  2. I love the look of your sox. Good luck with your budget

Leave a Reply

