Garden Planning

Well, I’ve been neglecting the blog horribly this month. I had bronchitis and a sinus infection that would not quit and I think I have finally beat it. I had two courses of prednisone and a few courses of antibiotics. I go back to the doctor next week for a follow up, but I am feeling normal again. Of course I stop the prednisone after tomorrow’s last dose and I am kind of dreading that, because the last time I went off it, I immediately started feeling horrible again and was right back where I started from, just shy of walking pneumonia. But hopefully this is real and I am better and I won’t relapse again.

I have been doing a lot of garden planning and even though I can’t start seeds until the end of February, I at least know what I’ll be planting when the time comes. I’m going to get a better set up than last year. We just don’t have the space for it, but Gardner’s Supply has a modular stackable grow light system that I am going to invest in. Maybe just one level this year, but I can add to it in the future. I am anxious to get started. I have been going through my seeds and have figured out what I have and what I need to get next.

I have at least the first draft of my garden layout for this year. That may change. I’m not sure I need as many tomato plants at this point as I thought. I still have an awful lot of sauce and diced tomatoes on my canning shelves. I am starting to make a small dent, but it might be better to me to focus more on peppers this year and then in 2017 go big on tomatoes again.

I think I am going to give the gutter garden another go, just put a small irrigation tube down each one. They did well the first year, but badly the second. I will attempt to grow strawberries in them. I have a lot of daughter plants, so I won’t be out any money if they don’t make it. I think it was a watering issue and if I can have a small drip system in place it will do better. I will also clean out all the soil that is in them, put a layer of rabbit manure down and then put in new soil. If the strawberries work out in it, then I can have less space being taken up in the raised beds.

I’ll try to do a better job of keeping up with the blog now, but if you want daily updates, it’s probably best to just go to my youtube channel until I get rolling again.

One thought on “Garden Planning

  1. Marcie says:

    Hope you are feeling much better. I’ve started my hot peppers and am waiting on a couple of back ordered seed packets (bell peppers and tomatoes) to plant next. It can’t be spring soon enough!

Leave a Reply

