A New Arrival

IMG_1833

I purchased a buck kit yesterday for the rabbitry.  He is a purebred broken black New Zealand.  His mother is a broken red and his father is a ruby-eyed white.  My son chose to name him Zander.  He is going to be our second breeding buck.  Leo will probably never be a breeder again.  In fact we may have to put him down still.  But meanwhile, when this little boy grows up in about 3 months, we’ll have someone besides Starbuck to breed our does with.

Since he carries the broken gene, if we breed him to a white doe, we can get broken black, white, black, or agouti.  If we breed him to a red doe we can get broken red, broken black, solid red, agouti, or solid white.  And with both we could get mixtures that wouldn’t quite be considered anything, but would likely be pretty.

He’s a little stained on his feet and underside.  Not dirty, but stained.  I think it was because he was in a cage with a dozen grow out bucks, which makes it hard for them to stay clean if they don’t have a ton of space.  He should go to work cleaning himself up and be able to stay that way now that he has cage space and no brothers and cousins spraying on him.

He cost me $30.  Today I sold an old hutch, one of the first ones I brought home, for $30, so I consider it a wash.  I do have two more up for sale.  One person was supposed to come by today, but has no-showed.  I even gave them a 3 hour window, but they didn’t show up and they didn’t message me to say they weren’t showing up.  And I know they’ve seen my message to ask them what is going on, because it tells me when the message was read, but they haven’t responded to it.  I don’t like having my time wasted.

Oh, not there isn’t stuff for me to do, but if I have to stay where I can hear the doorbell it does limit my activities.  I would never dream of not contacting someone if my plans fell through and I couldn’t make it.  It’s common courtesy, but that’s gone by the wayside it seems.

I really want to get these hutches gone, because I want to build some compost bins in their place.  I’d like to do a 3 or 4 bin set-up with free pallets and some wire we have from previous projects. We have so much soiled hay, manure, and bedding material (mostly straw or pine shavings), plus some grass clippings and weeds, that we could easily be making our own soil, we just haven’t had much of a way to contain it, and usually end up hauling it off and dumping it at places where people are building new gardens or want to start a good compost heap.

I do have the small bins, but they only produce so much.  Larger ones could eventually supply all of our soil needs.  At least I’ve got the hutches moved out of the spot I want to build the bins in, but I still need to do something with the rabbit tractors.  The wire is always reusable and we might be able to make an irrigation system with the PVC pipes for the garden as we have time.  Most of them are only 6 feet long though, so we might have to get some couplers and then cut a couple pipes into shorter pieces to extend it to 8 feet long (or maybe 7 feet as we want the pipes in the beds, not on the edges.  We have plenty of the elbows.  I’ll see what the husband thinks when he has time to figure it out.

 

Leave a Reply

