The Kits are Thriving

I am so happy with how the kits are doing. They are growing very well. Admittedly I haven’t been able to check on them as much as I normally would. My husband and son have had to do the majority of the rabbit chores since I still have bronchitis and a lot of swelling in my sprained ankle. I can’t go out at night, because I can’t see where I’m putting my feet and I can’t risk rolling my ankle again and the doctor doesn’t want me outside at night until this cough goes away.

We got the hoops in the garden covered with greenhouse plastic today. We are due for our first hard freeze and possible snow on Monday night and possibly more snow later in the week, but tomorrow night will get down to 35. I want to jolly my lettuce, kale, and chard along through the winter if I can and protect my herbs.

I am really struggling with the nightshade allergy. They put paprika in everything. I even found it in my uncured, nitrate free, nitrite free, high fructose free hot dogs. And I realized that my shelf full of homemade canned garlic dill pickles are not something I can eat now because of the red pepper flakes. And no one else in the family likes dill pickles. So now I can’t eat pickles until I can make more come summer when there are pickling cucumbers again, without the red pepper flakes. It’s a little discouraging.

I’ve started loom knitting again. I quit sometime around April last year. I finished the sock that was on the loom, but I don’t think I have enough yarn to make a matching sock. I will take a piece to the store and see if they still even have that yarn. If not I will just knit another sock in a different yarn I don’t have enough of to do two socks and just wear that pair in my boots where no one can see them.

Tomorrow we are going to fetch a 55 gallon barrel of produce. It is $15 for the produce and $15 deposit on the barrel. We’re getting it to feed to the ducks, turkeys, and chickens. They need the fresh stuff at this time of year when the garden is only making enough for us to eat and only a little to share with them. I have been giving them squash guts and seeds, but I like being able to give them some green leafy stuff, too, as well as some more substantial veggies. It’s all stuff that was simply pulled off the produce shelf the day before. A lot of it is still good for human consumption since they pull it the day before the sell by date and that is not even the use by date. I don’t know if I would consider eating any of it. I’d have to see it. It might be worth canning if it is root vegetables that are in decent shape. He said he had a lot of organic stuff. We’ll see.

I’ll leave you with some kit photos. They are now three weeks old.

img_3098

img_3102

img_3103

img_3104

Leave a Reply

